Nim Folder Structure / Integration in to existing studio structure

Discussions related to creating NIM project structures
Post Reply
filiplange
Posts: 14
Joined: January 9th, 2018, 9:59 am

Nim Folder Structure / Integration in to existing studio structure

Post by filiplange » January 23rd, 2019, 2:19 pm

Nim Folder Structure / Integration in to existing studio structure

We are using nim for several month and at the moment, we just inserted the nim structure in to our studio-folder structure.
We are using the connectors to flame and nuke and are in the middle of maya integration on all four of our studio locations.
It is like, a NIM folder, on the top of our internal folder-structure.

What I´ve learnd so far, and to be honest, I´m not really deep in tool integration, is that nim needs the structure: project/show/shot(or Asset)/several-folders.

Now the problem:
Our folder structure don´t work like that.
We seperate by task, not by show.

01-tools(projectfiles)/department/show/shot/
02-images(renders)/department/show/shot/

Long story short:
We will not be able to change the folder structure intirely, for nim.
Is it possible to change the Show based structure to a task based?
See attached screenshot, how it should work within our folder structure.
Attachments
nim_nhb_folder.JPG
nim_nhb_folder.JPG (48.57 KiB) Viewed 300 times
Filip Lange
nhb-studios
Vfx Supervisor

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 267
Joined: June 24th, 2014, 8:10 am

Re: Nim Folder Structure / Integration in to existing studio structure

Post by andrew » January 23rd, 2019, 7:40 pm

Hi,

In NIM all tasks are children of their parent object, albeit and asset or shot. Currently it is not possible to have the children (tasks) be the parent of its own parent (shot/asset).

There are some tricky things you can do with task folders however that let you go up and out of the existing structure since the task folder is a relative path to the parent root (asset root or shot root). For example you can have the task folder for a task called AE be set to "../../App/AE". This almost lets you do what you want however you can not insert variables into the task folder string. If we added support for variables in the task folder path then you could set a folder like this "../../01-tools/department/<show_name>/<shot_name>" and it would theoretically allow you to do what you need.

I can add this as a feature request.

-Andrew

filiplange
Posts: 14
Joined: January 9th, 2018, 9:59 am

Re: Nim Folder Structure / Integration in to existing studio structure

Post by filiplange » January 24th, 2019, 10:23 am

Hey Andrew,

thank you for this answer.
Talking about "task-folder" : where and when will the task folder be generated?
Is it somewher in the docu?

Thank you very much.

Filip
Filip Lange
nhb-studios
Vfx Supervisor

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 267
Joined: June 24th, 2014, 8:10 am

Re: Nim Folder Structure / Integration in to existing studio structure

Post by andrew » January 24th, 2019, 7:39 pm

The task folder is created as needed when a connector attempts to save a file with that task type. This way you only have task folders with actual files in it rather than a bunch of empty directories in each root. However if you want these folders to always exist you can go ahead and add them to the project structure as a normal folder. The connector will find that the folder exists already and use as needed.

Here's the section of the docs that talks about task folders:
https://nim-labs.com/docs/NIM/html/gs_admin.html#tasks

-Andrew

ChrisKastenNHB
Posts: 7
Joined: January 25th, 2019, 3:37 pm

Re: Nim Folder Structure / Integration in to existing studio structure

Post by ChrisKastenNHB » January 25th, 2019, 3:44 pm

Hi Andrew,

I'm Chris and I'm working close to Filip at NHB.

So far we've managed to seperate the render desitination from the "script" destination.

Now we're challenging following:
We want to seperate each render to it's application (or task type) before the shot folder (or asset folder).
So that we get something like:

<job>/Video_OUT/Nuke/<show name>/<shot name>/...render-seq
<job>/Video_OUT/AE/<show name>/<shot name>/...render-seq
<job>/Video_OUT/Flame/<show name>/<shot name>/...render-seq

Same for the scripts of each individual application.

Any chance to achive that?

- Chris
CHRIS KASTEN
flame artist
-----------
nhb video GmbH
GERMANY

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 267
Joined: June 24th, 2014, 8:10 am

Re: Nim Folder Structure / Integration in to existing studio structure

Post by andrew » January 25th, 2019, 7:55 pm

Hey Chris,

The render path is set differently depending on the application.

In Maya, Houdini, and 3dsMax there is a workspace that is created which defines the render location. This isn't directly exposed but you could modify the connector to use whatever path you wish. Check out the mk_workspace() function in the nim_core/nim_maya.py, nim_houdini.py, and nim_3dsmax.py files.

In Flame the render path is dictated by the export preset template you select and you can add as many presets as you like to NIM.
https://nim-labs.com/docs/NIM/html/conn ... rt-presets

The Nuke Write nodes explicitly use the SHOT COMP folder and this is baked into the gizmo but you can always expand and repack the gizmo.

At this time we do not set AE or C4D render paths automatically but I believe there are API calls for it now that will allow you to do this. When we originally wrote these connectors we did not have the access we needed.


Cheers,
Andrew

Post Reply